The Pacific Crest Trail. Can you guess where I’m going with this blog?

I’m Christina and this is my journey. My husband, Jake, and I have been married for 2 1/2 years and have lived a quiet life together in the small town of Gillette, WY. Living in a 2-bedroom apartment without pets or children to raise, gives us freedom to escape our full-time jobs for a while to embark on a journey through the mountains. I’m so thankful to have found a man who shares my love of adventure.

I’ve prayed about this 2,650 mile walk for quite some time. Over the past few years, I’ve been stalled by excuses, fears of the unknown and doubt. Why would we give up our jobs? We can’t just leave for 5 months. What will we do after the trail? That uncertainty also led to feelings of guilt. Is this what we should be doing right now? Is this God’s will for us?

Fear and guilt are not from God. My urge to wander, run, explore, hike – all of these things are beautiful gifts given by God himself. The gifts he gives are not only to bless us, but to bring glory to His Kingdom by accepting Him with open arms and with thanksgiving. We can’t predict what the future will bring, but we can trust God and pray for His will to lead us.

Do I want to live comfortably or courageously?

So here it goes. We have 8 months to prepare for this walk. We will face challenges -packing up everything we own, giving up our full-time jobs and  possibly relocating all together once we finish the trail – but a window of opportunity has presented itself. The Pacific Crest Trail is an opportunity for Jake and I to grow stronger together before we settle down and raise a family.

Get ready for lots of PCT prep – organizing resupplies, ultralight tips, food prep and recipes, videos, and lots of prayer and inspiration.

🌿 Christina

